- SUMMER SALE NOW ON
- UP TO 70% OFF
- ACROSS THE COLLECTIONS
Explore the store
Cordings in Piccadilly, London.
Welcome to Cordings, an iconic part of London’s landscape, on Piccadilly, half a minute away from Eros. Designed by the architect Harold Arthur Woodington, completed in 1903 and built using Portland stone which was also used for Buckingham Palace and St Paul’s cathedral.
Cordings historic entrance.
Cordings has occupied the store in Piccadilly since moving from The Strand. Explorers, royalty and rock stars have since this time passed through the Edwardian oak doors.
Edwardian signs on the exterior of Cordings
The original brass signs and mosaic on the exterior of the building date back from the store opening its doors on the site in 1903.
Cordings window facing onto Piccadilly.
The brass sign on the shop front still proudly states ‘waterproofers’ and John Charles Cordings pioneered the use of rubberised cotton cloth to create practical and stylish coats that were totally waterproof.
Cordings interior circa 1906 showing the outerwear collection.
The innovative outerwear was immediately adopted for use on horseback, boating and for the burgeoning motor car trade. The Mackintosh is still a cornerstone of the collection and hand made in Scotland for Cordings.
Dating from 1903, the oak panelled counter
The original oak counter is still standing in the oak panelled reception, which now displays the men’s accessory collections.
The tie table just by the entrance in reception
During the twentieth century, Cordings expanded its collection to include accessories. Our British and Italian silk ties, with country motifs, are an essential ingredient in a gentleman’s wardrobe.
The Edwardian sock cabinet in reception
Cordings is also renowned for its collection of unique, colourful British hosiery, a chance to add a dash of colour to your outfit.
Edwardian oak panelling and staircase
The oak panelled walls leading to the ladies floor are hung with early photographs of Cordings. Showing interior and exterior as well as boot making in the basement.
Cordings menswear floor circa 1906
The men’s floor is reached using the original Edwardian oak staircase.
The trouser wall.
Cordings celebrate colour throughout menswear and nowhere is this more apparent than the trouser collection, including such traditional British cloths as corduroy, needlecord and moleskin.
The shirt wall.
The Tattersall shirt, named after the horse blanket has been a part of the Cordings collection for over 100 years. These smart brushed cotton checks are synonymous with British country wear.
British tweed, a cornerstone of Cordings menswear.
Tweed epitomises British country style and Cordings is proud to work with the finest British mills each season to create a collection that takes you from town to the peg in style.
The original Covert coat.
Perhaps the most iconic item in the Cordings collection is the Covert coat. Invented by Cordings in the nineteenth century, an early version is in the permanent collection in the V&A museum. It is still seen as the perfect coat to take you from town to country in style.
Original boots made by Cordings.
The boots on display are part of the archive collection. Made in the basement of the store up until the 1940s, the boots were made for such eminent clients as The Queen Mother, the Duke of Windsor and Mrs Simpson.
Hat boxes, signage and ledgers found in the store.
All around the store there are legacies of Cordings past including old ledgers, hat boxes and signage, a visual reminder of the long heritage of the store.
The elegant stained glass lantern on the ladies’ floor.
The ladieswear floor has many original features a stunning stained glass lantern.
The original fireplace in the ladies’ room surrounded by the collection
Ladieswear was reintroduced fifteen years ago, and the exclusive collection embodies feminine and flattering British style.
Cordings in Piccadilly circa 1906
The values that have carried Cordings throughout the last two centuries are still as relevant today as they were when John Charles Cordings first opened his doors in 1839; quality, service and an adherence to brilliantly British style.